Dominican Republic signs request to facilitate safe exit of people from Afghanistan

The Dominican Republic signed a joint statement from the U.S. Department of State, together with more than 100 countries, requesting the safe departure of foreigners and Afghans who wish to leave Afghanistan, after that Asian country fell into the hands of the Taliban.

The communiqué, signed by more than 100 countries, states that the Afghan people deserve to live in safety, security and dignity and that the international community stands ready to help them.

“Given the deteriorating security situation, we support, are working to ensure and call on all parties to respect and facilitate the safe and orderly departure of foreign nationals and Afghans who wish to leave the country. Those in positions of power and authority throughout Afghanistan have responsibility – and accountability – for the protection of human life and property, and for the immediate restoration of security and civil order,” the statement said.

It adds that Afghans and international citizens who wish to leave must be allowed to do so and roads, airports and border crossings must remain open and calm must be maintained.”

Among the signatory states are: Albania, Armenia, Dominican Republic, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Canada, Central African Republic , Chad, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ivory Coast, Croatia, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea and Estonia.

Also signed by the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, North Macedonia, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Cyprus, Republic of Korea and Romania.

The declaration was also signed by Rwanda, Samoa, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Spain, St. Kitts and Nevis, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Gambia, Togo, Tonga, Turkey, Uganda, Union of the Comoros, United Kingdom, United States of America, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia, Republic of Korea and Romania.


author avatar
Dominican Republic Live Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty + 4 =

Verified by MonsterInsights