Themag Awards gala honors the tourism sector

THEMAG Awards also gave special recognition to the Tourism Cabinet, presided over by President Luis Abinader and led by the Minister of Tourism, David Collado, for being the driving force behind the take-off of tourism activity in recent years.

Bávaro, Punta Cana – The most outstanding companies and personalities of the tourism and hospitality sector in the eastern region of the country – Punta Cana, Cap Cana, Bávaro, Macao, Miches, La Romana, Bayahibe – were recognized with the THEMAG AWARD 2023 awards, during a gala evening held at the theater of the Iberostar Grand Bávaro Resort Punta Cana hotel.

The event was presided over by the general directors of THEMAG, Betina Rey and Marcelo Ballester, together with the vice minister of Tourism, Roberto Henríquez; the president of Asonahores, David Llibre, and the president of ASOLESTE, Ernesto Veloz, accompanied by the most important personalities of the national tourism sector, hotel associations, businessmen, general directors of chains, banking and investment executives.Premios THEMAG

The first edition of this award honored the most successful experiences and best practices in tourism in the Eastern Zone, through 10 categories related to the sector, whose selection was made by shortlists and voting was transparent and open to the public.

Read also: Tourism agrees with Condor airline to cover Air France routes in summer
“THEMAG magazine took the great leap to recognize those who have been a fundamental part of the development of destinations along the East Coast of the Dominican Republic. With this first edition, we established the THEMAG AWARDS on an annual basis, transforming it into the most important recognition dedicated to the industry’s players, thus promoting a culture of excellence and innovation, oriented towards quality and sustainability, in this increasingly productive tourism area,” said Betina Rey.

The big winners of this first edition were Nickelodeon Punta Cana Resorts in the category “Innovative proposal in the hotel sector”; Hyatt Ziva Cap Cana, as “Original proposal in A&B, gastronomy and hotel bars”; Iberostar Hotels & Resorts, in the category “Sustainability in companies”; Consorcio Energético Punta Cana – Macao CEPM, as “Companies that stand out for their corporate social commitment”; and Punta Cana International Airport in the category of “Companies with the greatest expansion and diversification”.

In the category “Investment Sector that has contributed the most to tourism development” was awarded the Banco de Reservas; as “Outstanding Integral Tourist Attraction”, Runners Adventure; and Otium International DMC, in the category “Experts in local receptive services of greater development and permanence”.

Casa de Campo Resorts & Villas was the grand winner in the category “Most complete real estate development”, and Punta Espada Golf Club Cap Cana, as “Most attractive and challenging golf course”.

As part of the awards ceremony, special recognition was given to the Association of Eastern Hotels (ASOLESTE) for the 30th anniversary of its founding, valuing the work and contribution to strengthening the tourism and hotel sector in the Eastern Region of the Dominican Republic, which was received by its president Ernesto Veloz.

THEMAG Awards also gave special recognition to the Cabinet of Tourism, presided by President Luis Abinader and led by the Minister of Tourism, David Collado, for being the great promoters of the take-off of tourism activity in recent years, where through effective and innovative policies, they managed to break all growth records and place the country on the world map as the destination with the greatest projection and reference for other tourist powers.

Roberto Henríquez, Vice Minister of Tourism, upon receiving this recognition, praised the organization of the THEMAG AWARDS for this great initiative that accompanies the effort that MITUR has been making so that the sector continues to grow in quality and services.

“I receive this recognition for the Cabinet of Tourism headed by our president Luis Abinader and led by Minister David Collado, with all humility, I take it as a recognition of teamwork with the private sector, always in favor of the country’s tourism,” he said.

The official congratulated all the winners of this edition of the THEMAG AWARDS, an event that will undoubtedly be known as “The Oscars of Tourism in the Dominican Republic”, Henríquez assured.


Learn more: NEWS


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 − 5 =

Verified by MonsterInsights