Dominican Republic to assume Chairmanship of the OAS Permanent Council

The Dominican Republic will assume the Presidency of the Permanent Council of the Organization of American States (OAS) on October 1, thus opening an important opportunity for the country to continue strengthening its presence and leadership in the organization and its relations with the different member states and permanent observers, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced today.

The presidency of this important body will be led by the country’s permanent representative to the Organization, Ambassador Josué Fiallo, under the direction of Foreign Minister Roberto Álvarez, and will run from October-December 2021.

During this period, the Dominican Republic will preside over the General Committee and the Preparatory Committee for the Fifty-first Regular Session of the OAS General Assembly, to be held on November 10, 11 and 12, 2021; In addition, he will collaborate with the preparatory work for the IX Summit of the Americas to be held in the United States next year, as well as moderate the Regular and Special Sessions of the Permanent Council where other issues on the agenda of the Organization and any other hemispheric interest that may be submitted by its members are discussed.

During its tenure, the Dominican representation aspires to achieve a commitment to balance, coordination and constant dialogue to advance the issues on the hemispheric agenda in the areas of strengthening democracy, human rights, multidimensional security and integral development.

The work plan presented by the Permanent Mission to the OAS, in coordination with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MIREX), and in consultation with the Member States, also contemplates holding panels, debates and activities on issues related to the four foundational pillars of the Organization and contributing to the promotion of the values and positive image of the Dominican Republic, as well as the positioning of our country in the multilateral sphere.

On the Chairmanship of the Permanent Council

Member States hold the Chairmanship of the Permanent Council, on average, every 8 years. The last three occasions in which the Dominican Republic has held this responsibility have been the following: January-March 1997, Ambassador Flavio Darío Espinal; July-September 2005, Ambassador Roberto Álvarez (current Foreign Minister of the Republic); and in January-March 2014, Ambassador Pedro Verges Cimán.

Currently, the Presidency of the Permanent Council of the hemispheric organization is held by the Permanent Representative of Peru to the OAS, Harold Forsyth.

author avatar
Dominican Republic Live Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × three =

Verified by MonsterInsights