Arajet received third boeing 737 max, first 23 destinations

Arajet is getting ready to start operations with the arrival of its third Boeing 737-8 this week. In addition, the company announced its first 23 destinations.

The new aircraft arrived in Santo Domingo (SDQ), Dominican Republic, on the night of June 30, from Boeing’s Seattle plant. It is registered HI-1081 and was named «Jaragua» in homage to the national park of the same name, joining «Pico Duarte» (HI-1026) and «Valle Nuevo» (HI-1027). Two additional MAXs with the same 189-seat configuration will be added soon.

Arajet will also be the first customer in the Americas for the Boeing 737-8200, the high-density version of the MAX that can accommodate up to 210 passengers, with an order for 20 aircraft and an option for 15 more.

Arajet is expected to generate more than 4,000 direct jobs and some 40,000 indirect jobs over the next five years. In addition, they plan to transport 7 million passengers per year, making it the largest company in the history of the Dominican Republic.

Approaching the start date of operations

Arajet is considered the first low-cost company in the Dominican Republic and will be focused on connecting new markets from the Dominican Republic and reinforcing the tourist movement that characterizes the country.

The company filed 116 routes in its Certificate of Economic Authorization (CAE) for its future operations. With the third aircraft arrived and the granting of its Air Operator Certificate (AOC) last June, it will be able to establish more precisely its network of destinations.

According to resolution 158-2022 submitted to the Civil Aviation Board (JAC), Arajet will start flying to 23 cities in the Caribbean, South America, Central America, and North America, divided in two phases between July 2022 and January 2023.

In five destinations it has direct competition from one or more airlines: Mexico City, Panama, Fort Lauderdale (FLL), New York (JFK) and Orlando/Sanford (SFB).

Arajet will operate twice weekly to:

  • Bahamas: Nassau (NAS).
  • Barbados: Bridgetown (BGI).
  • Canada: Toronto/Pearson (YYZ).
  • Colombia: Barranquilla (BAQ) and Cartagena (CTG).
  • Ecuador: Guayaquil (GYE) and Quito (UIO).
  • United States: St. Petersburg-Clearwater (PIE).
  • El Salvador: San Salvador (SAL).
  • Guyana: Georgetown (GEO).
  • Cayman Islands: Grand Cayman (GCM).
  • Jamaica: Montego Bay (MBJ) and Kingston (KIN).
  • Martinique: Fort-de-France (FDF).
  • Mexico: Cancun (CUN), Mexico City (MEX), Guadalajara (GDL) and Monterrey (MTY).
  • Suriname: Paramaribo (PBM).

Other destinations will have a greater number of frequencies:

  • Panama City (PTY); five flights per week.
  • Fort Lauderdale (FLL), New York (JFK) and Orlando/Sanford (SFB) in the United States; with seven flights per week each destination.
author avatar
Dominican Republic Live Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

13 − four =

Verified by MonsterInsights