Culture to hold the fifth meeting of Cultural Dialogues 2023 in La Romana

Authorities from the Ministry of Culture (MINC) will meet in La Romana with cultural managers from the Eastern region as part of the fifth meeting of Diálogos Culturales 2023.

These authorities will listen to delegations of cultural sector workers from La Romana, San Pedro de Macorís, Hato Mayor, El Seibo and La Altagracia, in a meeting that will take place tomorrow, Saturday, September 30, at 10:00 a.m., in the facilities of the Aldea Santa Rosa de Lima.

The meeting will be headed by the Minister of Culture, Milagros Germán, who will be accompanied by deputy ministers of the institution, provincial and municipal authorities, as well as personalities from the cultural field of the aforementioned districts.

Germán values the Cultural Dialogues as an interesting initiative that will allow to offer real solutions to the artistic and cultural needs that symbolize and represent the different regions of the country.

During the first four meetings, MINC authorities held meetings with dozens of cultural representatives from the Central, South, Southwest and North Cibao regions in order to learn first-hand about the country’s needs in this area and, consequently, to develop policies that will benefit the sector.

The Cultural Dialogues will cover the entire national territory in a series of meetings attended by delegates from the Organization of Ibero-American States as observers and guarantors of the transparency of the process.

The participation of this organization is also due to its commitment to systematize the results of each meeting in order to deliver, at the end of the series of dialogues, a Participatory Diagnosis of the Cultural Sector, which will be used as input for the development of public policies that will have an impact on the country’s cultural life.

Participating regions

The Cultural Dialogues 2023 are being held in eight regions of the country: Region 1, which includes the National District and Monte Plata; Region 2 (Central Cibao), which includes Santiago, La Vega and Monseñor Nouel, where the first meeting was held; and Region 3 (North), which includes Puerto Plata, María Trinidad Sánchez and Samaná, where the fourth meeting took place.

Region 4 (Northeast) comprises the provinces of Duarte, Espaillat, Salcedo and Sánchez Ramírez; Region 5 (Northwest) is made up of Montecristi, Dajabón, Santiago Rodríguez and Valverde, and Region 6 (East) includes La Romana, San Pedro de Macorís, Hato Mayor, El Seibo and La Altagracia, where the next meeting will be held.

Region 7 (South) comprises San Juan de la Maguana, Azua, Elías Piña, San Cristóbal, San José de Ocoa and Peravia, and will be dealt with in two meetings, of which one has already been held, and Region 8 (Southwest), which is made up of Independencia, Bahoruco, Barahona and Pedernales, where the third meeting was held.


author avatar
Dominican Republic Live Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two × 4 =

Verified by MonsterInsights