Dominican Republic moves closer to the creation of its Space Agency

The Minister of Defense Lieutenant General Carlos Luciano Díaz Morfa, ERD, received the courtesy visit of the Dominican space engineer Scarlin Hernández, together with the Director General of the Specialized Corps for Airport Security and Civil Aviation (CESAC); Major General Carlos Febrillet Rodríguez, FARD, and the Dominican Vice Consul in Boston, Luis Rosario, an occasion that was propitious for an important meeting with entities and ministries that will be part of the National Council for Aeronautical Affairs of the Dominican Republic.

The objective of the creation of this space entity is to represent the country before the United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA), as well as other related international institutions and networks, to establish legal criteria, economic policies, projects and cooperation programs with international space agencies for the benefit of the national productive sectors. In addition, to coordinate policies and programs in the areas of basic, secondary and higher education for the development of Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics (STEAM).

For the moment, it has been defined that this National Council of Aeronautical Affairs will be formed by the Ministries of the Presidency, Foreign Affairs, Defense, Economy, Planning and Development, Higher Education, Science and Technology, as well as other public, private and higher education institutions.

Also participating in this socialization meeting were the Minister of Youth, Rafael Jesús Féliz García; the Vice Minister of the Presidency, Martín Rivera Gabirondo; the Vice Minister for Air and Space Affairs, Major General Juan Manuel Jiménez García, FARD; the Director of the Higher Institute for Defense (INSUDE), Brigadier General Francisco Antonio Ovalle Pichardo, ERD; the Deputy Director of the Dominican Institute of Aviation, Héctor Porcella, accompanied by his advisor, Mr. Franklin Polanco.

Among these 14 institutions were also represented the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MIREX), the Ministry of Economy, Planning and Development (MEPyD), the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (MESCyT), the Technological Institute of the Americas (ITLA) and the Technological Institute of Santo Domingo (INTEC).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − thirteen =

Verified by MonsterInsights