Netherlands and Dominican Republic set maritime boundaries

The Netherlands and the Dominican Republic have signed this Monday an agreement with which they have fixed the maritime borders between both countries in the Caribbean Sea.

According to a statement from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Caribbean country, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Dominican Republic, Roberto Alvarez, and the ambassador of the Netherlands, Annemieke Verrijp, have established “that the delimitation of all maritime zones were drawn on the basis of equidistance and will be the geodesic line formed by the points identified by their geographical coordinates expressed in the World Geodetic System of 1984”.

For the Dominican Republic, this agreement represents “an achievement” in its foreign policy since it seeks to “harmonize its legislation with international law” and “the necessary resources for the delimitation of the Dominican maritime limits with the 4 countries still pending”.

For her part, the ambassador of the European country has shared this statement on her Twitter account and has described the agreement as “historic” and “important for security and development”. “The sea has always been the bond of union between our countries, since the Taino interaction between Hispaniola, Aruba and Curaçao,” she added.


author avatar
Dominican Republic Live Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five × 5 =

Verified by MonsterInsights